Aretha Franklin to release new album

The Queen of Soul is going to grace listeners with her first album in 3 years.

According to reports, the album will come almost as a surprise, with Ms. Franklin discussing it on an appearence on The Late Show with David Letterman on September 29, where she’s supposedly going to be performing the lead single, a cover of Adele’s 2011 global hit “Rolling in the Deep.” The day after it will be released.

This LP, tentatively called Aretha Sings Songs of the Great Divas, is an hommage to ten women, all fellow divas, whose songs Aretha is going to re-interpret adding her own stamp to each of them. The rumored tracklist includes renditions of “Midnight Train to Georgia” by Gladys Knight, “People” by Barbra Streisand, “I’m Every Woman” by Chaka Khan/Whitney Houston, “No One” by Alicia Keys and “Nothing Compares 2 U” written by Prince and made popular in 1990 by Sinéad O’ Connor.

The tracks are being produced by André 3000 and Babyface, with Clive Davis serving as executive producer of the release. None of the singers has known beforehand of these covers and apparently they’ll all find out when Ms. Franklin will hit the Today Show on October 3 to promote the album.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: